72 WPI Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

WPI News Archive

Nov 08, 2018

Westwood, MA — Led by seven three-time honorees, WPI placed 72 fall student-athletes on their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference teams. Football led the department with 21 selections while Volleyball boasted a NEWMAC-best nine. Men’s Soccer boasted 11, followed by Women’s Soccer (9) and Field Hockey (8). Women’s Cross Country once again tied its program record with eight and Men’s Cross Country produced six.
Men’s Soccer was guided by Riley Doherty (Shrewsbury, MA), Spencer Ralphs (Simsbury, CT) and Jake Steinberg (Shrewsbury, MA) while Azita Bakhtyari (Andover, MA) and Casey Hunt (Granby, CT) represented Volleyball, and graduate student Emily Newman (Easton, MA) and senior Steffany Halfrey (Hubbardston, MA) collected their third for Women’s Cross Country. Football’s Tristin Carlton (Coventry, RI) and Nick Day (Northampton, MA) earned their second to go along with one from the Liberty League.
The NEWMAC-leading volleyball team saw senior Victoria Nassar (Atkinson, NH) along with all three juniors; Abbie Gilbert (Hopkinton, MA), Colleen Mullins (Andover, MA) and Kassidy Utheim (Monroe Township, NJ) collect their second accolade, and sophomores Kayleigh Campbell (Wilbraham, MA), Sarah Kwatinetz (Seattle, WA) and Amanda Wetmore (Hudson, NH) earn their first.
Football seniors Luca Cerasani (Abington, MA), Sam Malafronte (Abington, MA) and Collin Saunders (Westwood, NJ), who were Liberty League selections in 2016, picked up their first NEWMAC honor while classmate Erik Fyrer (Ipswich, MA) was recognized in his first year of eligibility. Juniors Zack Ahrens (South Glens Falls, NY), Ben Emrick (Windham, NH), Clark Ewen (Arlington, MA), Nick Ostrowski (Charlton, MA) and Nick Samuelson (Sandy Hook, CT) all earned their second in as many years and were joined by Julian Nyland (Melrose, MA), Stephen Peterson (Maynard, MA) and Zach Uglevich (Maynard, MA) on this year’s scroll. Sophomores TJ Cooper (Shirley, MA), Lou Duh (Monroe, CT), Adam Klosner (Ilion, NY), Hunter Lutte (Wind Gap, PA), Ryan Michaud (Salem, NH), Kevin Moore (Greenland, NH) and Tim Ryan (Schenectady, NY) all picked …

Read More