COD Student Leadership Council Lobbies for Illinois Community Colleges

News at College of DuPage

By Mike McKissackRecently, the Student Leadership Council (SLC) team met with Illinois State Representatives
and Senators as part of Advocacy Day, an annual event organized by the Illinois Community
College Board.The College’s SLC delegation advocated for three bills concerning community college
students. The first was House Bill 3211 which pertains to SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program) benefits for college students. This bill would flag all students
eligible for SNAP when filing a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA),
aiding students experiencing food insecurity. The delegation also advocated for House
Bill 0426, Immigration Safe Zones, which is designed to help train staff and faculty
in such places as schools, places of worship and medical facilities in order to be
a safe zone for immigrants, requiring Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) to
have a warrant to detain a person outside of a safe zone. The third bill was Senate
Bill 0926, which allow students to gain access to their transcripts or to register
for next-semester classes, regardless of account balance.This year’s delegation included President Kiley Pooler (Downers Grove), Vice President Shara Refugio (Villa Park), ICCB Student Representative Ugne Narbutaitė (Aurora), Student Trustee Luzelena Escamilla (Hanover Park), Student Trustee-Elect Anthony Walker (Bensenville), Civic Engagement Officer Emily Owens (Glen Ellyn), Operations Officer William Schillinger (Glen Ellyn), Service Officer Carolyn Metcalfe (Naperville), and Outreach Officer Daisy Martinez (Carol Stream).For more information on the SLC delegates advocacy in Springfield, please contact
SLC Outreach Officer Daisy Martinez at or (630) 942-2718.Click here for more information on the Student Leadership Council at College of DuPage.Pictured left to right: Anthony Walker, Daisy Martinez, Shara Refugio, Carolyn Metcalfe, William Schillinger,
Luzelena Escamilla, Emily Owens, Ugne Narbutaitė and Kiley Pooler.

Read More