Five from the College of Nursing honored at March of Dimes awards

UC Health News

A student and four faculty from the
University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Nursing won awards at the March of
Dimes Ohio Nurse of the Year awards held Friday, Nov. 2, 2018 in Columbus, Ohio.
Jean Anthony, PhD, associate professor, Denise Gormley, PhD, professor, interim
senior associate dean for academic affairs, Deborah Schwytzer, DNP, associate
professor, Cynthia Nypaver, PhD, associate professor and certified registered
nurse anesthetist (CRNA) student Sarah Farmer were all honored.

The March of Dimes Nurse of the
Year Awards is an awards event and fundraiser that brings together the health
care community to recognize nursing excellence and achievements in research,
education, quality patient care, innovation and leadership. Awards are
presented to the most outstanding nurse within each of the 24 categories.

Nurses are first nominated by
peers, nurse managers, supervisors or even the families they have impacted. Each
nurse is then asked to submit an application to be considered. Each application
is carefully reviewed and scored by a committee of chief nursing officers and
other nurse leaders from the health care community in Ohio.   

The winners from the UC College of Nursing and their respective
categories are:Jean Anthony—Behavioral HealthSarah Farmer—Case Management/Managed CareDenise Gormley—Nurse LeadershipCynthia Nypaver—Women’s Health & CenteringDeborah Schwytzer —Emergency

Read More