Georgia Tech Trio Selected to National Academy of Engineering

Science and Technology

Campus and Community Science and Technology

Georgia Tech Trio Selected to National Academy of Engineering

NAE membership is one of the highest distinctions for engineers

Jason Maderer/Kay Kinard | February 8, 2018
• Atlanta, GA

Click image to enlarge

L to R: Timothy Lieuwen, Jianjun (Jan) Shi and Gary S. May are the newest members of the NAE.

Two current College of Engineering faculty members and an adjunct professor (and former dean) have been named to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  

Professors Timothy Lieuwen and Jianjun (Jan) Shi are two of this year’s 83 new NAE members. They’re joined by adjunct faculty member and former College of Engineering Dean Gary S. May. The group will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in September.

“We are delighted that the National Academy of Engineering has recognized our Georgia Tech faculty members for their outstanding contributions to engineering and as leaders in their fields,” said Steve McLaughlin, dean and Southern Company Chair in the College of Engineering. “We also take great pride that our former dean and Tech alumnus, Gary May, has been recognized, not only for his research, but also for his advocacy in bringing more underrepresented students into engineering. Their induction is a testament to the quality of our faculty members and their contributions to the engineering profession.”Lieuwen is the executive director of Georgia Tech’s Strategic Energy Institute and professor and David S. Lewis Jr. Chair in the Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering. He was honored for “contributions to research and development in low-emissions gas turbine combustion systems and U.S. energy policy.”Shi was recognized for “the development of data fusion-based quality methods and their implementation in multistage manufacturing systems.” He serves as Carolyn J. …

Read More