Kurgat, Logue, Rudolph, Smith Big 12 Award Recipients

Iowa State University Athletics

AMES, Iowa – The Big 12 Conference announced its postseason awards today and the list was decked with Cardinal and Gold. Big 12 Champions Edwin Kurgat and Cailie Logue were named the Men’s and Women’s Runner of the Year, respectively. Martin Smith and Amy Rudolph were named the Men’s and Women’s Coaches of the Year, respectively.

This marks the second year in a row that an Iowa State runner has won Runner of the Year and Martin Smith has won Coach of the Year on the men’s side.

For the women, it’s the third year in a row that an Iowa State coach has won the award and seventh time in the last eight seasons. Logue is the first Iowa State woman to win Runner of the Year since the awards changed format in 2016.

In his first season at Iowa State, Kurgat was incredible for the Iowa State men’s cross country team. At the 2018 NCAA Championships, Kurgat took third place individually to earn All-America honors. It was the best finish by a Cyclone individual since 1990. Kurgat secured individual titles at the 2018 NCAA Midwest Regional Championships and the Big 12 Championships. Kurgat was the first Iowa State men’s individual to win the Regional title and the Big 12 title. Prior to the NCAA Championships, Kurgat was awarded the Midwest Region’s Bill Bergan Award, which is given to the best male athlete in the Midwest Region annually. In the regular season, Kurgat finished runner-up at the Nuttycombe Invitational and was named the Big 12 Men’s Runner of the Week for his efforts.

Martin Smith’s team in 2018 was one of, if not the best, that he has had at Iowa State. The Cyclones raced to a seventh-place finish at the 2018 NCAA Championships. It was the first time that Iowa State has posted back-to-back top-10 finishes at the NCAA finals since the 1993-94 seasons. The Cyclone men also swept the …

Read More