Minnesota State Again Expected to Lead WCHA Pack

College Hockey News from CHN

September 24, 2018

CHN Staff Report

Related ArticlesMinnesota StateNorthern Michigan

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. — Defending regular-season champion Minnesota State was picked to once again hoist the MacNaughton Cup in 2018-19, according to polls of the WCHA coaches and media. Northern Michigan forwards Adam Rockwood and Troy Loggins split the coaches’ and media’s votes, respectively, as WCHA Preseason Player of the Year, while Ferris State defenseman Cooper Zech was the coaches’ choice as WCHA Preseason Rookie of the Year.

Minnesota State, which has won an NCAA-best 151 games over the last six seasons and has captured at least a share of the WCHA regular season title in three of the last four campaigns, received seven of 10 first-place votes (88 points overall) in the sixth annual Mankato Free Press WCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll. The Mavericks took 13 of 19 first-place votes (182 points overall) in the second annual UAHHockey.com WCHA Preseason Media Poll.

Rockwood, a senior from Coquitlam, British Columbia, led the league last season in overall points with 48 points for the Wildcats, including an NCAA-best 40 assists. Loggins, a senior from Huntington Beach, Calif., earned the media nod after setting career highs in 2017-18 with 23 goals (including an NCAA-best five shorthanded), 24 assists and 47 points.

Zech, a blue-liner from South Lyon, Mich., played for the Wenatchee Wild of the British Columbia Hockey League last season where he Defenseman of the Year, leading the league with 58 assists and scoring 69 points in 58 games.

WCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll

1. Minnesota State (7)
2. Northern Michigan (2)
3. Bowling Green
4. Michigan Tech (1)
5. Bemidji State
6. Ferris State
7. Lake Superior State
8. Alaska
9. Alabama-Huntsville
10. Alaska-Anchorage

WCHA Preseason Player of the Year: Adam Rockwood, Sr., F, Northern MichiganWCHA Preseason Rookie of the Year: Cooper Zech, D, Ferris State

Preseason All-WCHA Team
F: Adam Rockwood, Sr., Northern Michigan; Marc Michaelis, So., Minnesota State; Troy Loggins, Sr., Northern Michigan
D: Alec Rauhauser, Jr., Bowling Green; Philip Beaulieu, Jr., Northern Michigan
G: Atte Tolvanen, Sr., …

Read More