Northwestern appoints Kellogg interim dean and associate provosts

Northwestern Now: Summaries

Kathleen M. Hagerty, senior associate dean of faculty and research in Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management, has been named the school’s interim dean beginning Sept. 1.Provost Jonathan Holloway announced the appointment today (July 12) and thanked the search committee and the Kellogg community for its partnership in the ongoing international search for a permanent dean.Since joining Kellogg more than 30 years ago, Hagerty has earned a reputation as an accomplished scholar and respected faculty leader, who has vast experience attracting and retaining world-class faculty in an increasingly competitive market for academic talent.She has held numerous leadership positions within Kellogg, including serving two terms as senior associate dean of faculty and research, two terms as chair of the finance department and a stint as faculty director of Kellogg’s Ph.D. programs. She also is responsible for the development of several successful academic programs that foster partnerships across the University.Associate provost for facultyAt the conclusion of her tenure as Kellogg interim dean, Hagerty will join the Office of the Provost as associate provost for faculty, where she will support approximately 3,700 full-time individuals while developing and executing the strategic vision for faculty at Northwestern.Kathleen HagertyShe will build on the work of the Provost’s Initiative in Support of Faculty Excellence to foster even more outstanding scholarship, creative work, research and teaching. And she will oversee the extensive portfolio of faculty development and leadership programs, as well as strengthen policies and resources that address faculty well-being and work-life issues.In addition, Hagerty will lead efforts related to faculty diversity and inclusion and will collaborate with University leaders and faculty partners to enhance the recruitment, retention and success of underrepresented minorities and women faculty.Associate provost for undergraduate educationIn a separate announcement, Holloway shared that Miriam Sherin, currently associate dean for teacher education in the School of Education and Social Policy (SESP), has …

Read More