WVU engineering professor named Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry

Stories | WVU Today | West Virginia University

“Nick” Wu, professor of mechanical
and aerospace engineering at West Virginia
University, has been named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

“This is the collective outcome of the administrative
support, the effort of all my students and the investment in research
infrastructure at WVU,” said Wu. “My independent academic career grows from the
root at WVU.”

The Royal Society of Chemistry, founded in 1841, is the
United Kingdom’s professional body for chemical scientists and the largest
organization in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences. The society
partners with industry and academia; promotes collaboration and innovation;
advises governments on policy; and promotes the talent, information and ideas
that lead to great advances in science. The designation FRSC is given to a
group of elected Fellows who have made outstanding contributions to chemistry.
As of 2016, only 108 scientists have earned this designation.

Wu, a materials scientist, conducts research in
photocatalysts and photoelectrochemical cells for solar energy harvesting, batteries
and supercapacitors for energy storage, chemical sensors and biosensors for
healthcare and environment monitoring. His research is funded by the National
Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health and the U.S. Department of

He received his Ph.D. degree in materials science and engineering
from Zhejiang University, China, in 1997. He was a postdoctoral research fellow
at University of Pittsburgh from 1999 to 2001 and later directed the Keck
Surface Science Center at Northwestern University from 2001-2005. He joined WVU
as an assistant professor in 2005 and was promoted to associate professor and
professor in 2010 and 2014, respectively. He has published one book and more
than 150 journal papers. His papers were cited close to 2,400 times in 2016,
achieving a total citation of more than 12,300 throughout his career.

Wu currently serves on the board of directors of the
Electrochemical Society and serves as chair of the Sensor Division of ESC. He
has received the Benedum Distinguished Scholar Award …

Read More